Weren't able to attend the 2009 Marketing to African-Americans with Excellence (MAAX) Summit? Order the workbook which contains hard copies of the presentations made by some of the nation's top experts on Black consumer marketing, including:

Burrell Communications Carol H. Williams Agency
FUSE Advertising
Hunter-Miller Group
MEE Productions
Media Economics Group
Nia Enterprises
Salon Sense Magazine Sanders\Wingo
Target Market News
The MasterMind Group
The Media Audit
The Nielsen Company
U.S. Census Bureau
UniWorld Group
...and more

Click here to order

Advertising & PR News
Marketing News
TV & Cable News
Radio News
Magazine News
Newspaper News
Internet News

Retailing News
Consumer Research

Expenditure Data
People in the News
Industry News
Company Bios and

 Register Here       
Are you getting the latest industry news when it happens via e-mail

Click here for free delivery of the Target Market News Bulletin
You'll receive news of breaking stories, exclusives, updates and headlines on the latest developments in African American marketing and media

 Black Stats          
Frequently requested data on African American consumers

Black Buying Power:
  $744 Billion (2006)

Black U.S. Population:
  38.3 million

Top Five Black Cities
  - New York
  - Chicago
  - Detroit
  - Philadelphia
  - Houston

Top Five Black Metros:
  - New York-New Jersey
  - Washington-Baltimore
  - Chicago-Gary
  - Los Angeles
  - Philadelphia

Top Five Expenditures:
 - Housing $121.6 bil.
 - Food $59.2 bil.
 - Cars/Trucks $32.1 bil.
 - Clothing $27.7 bil.
 - Health Care $17.8 bil.

Click here for more stats from "The Buying Power of Black America."
Get quick access to key
U.S. Census 
Bureau Data

Click here to go to African-American Census Bureau data


(c) 2009 by
Target Market News Inc.

All rights reserved
Business address:
228 S. Wabash Ave.
Suite 210
Chicago, IL 60604
t.  312-408-1881 

Kathy Times Elected President of National Association of Black Journalists
Bob Butler and Deirdre M. Childress elected vice presidents, CNN's Roland Martin elected secretary

(August 8, 2009) The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) today announced that Kathy Times has been elected the 18th President of the 3,200-member organization. Also elected to serve for the 2009-11 term are Vice President-Print Deirdre M. Childress of the Philadelphia Inquirer and Vice President-Broadcast Bob Butler of KCBS Radio in San Francisco.

Times, an anchor for WDBD-TV in Jackson, Miss., won the election with 325 votes or 57 percent of the vote, defeating opponent Angelo Henderson, a Radio One Talk Show Host, writer and president of Angeloink, LLC.

The election results were announced at a 6 p.m. press conference following the closing of the polls at the Tampa Convention Center, site of the 2009 NABJ Annual Convention and Career Fair. More than 1,300 votes were cast by eligible NABJ members in this year's election, conducted online between June 8 and 5 p.m. today.

"This next Board will pick up the gauntlet at a historic moment in journalism's evolution," said Melanie Burney, NABJ Elections Committee Chair. "These individuals will help to lead our organization to the new frontier of journalism."

Times, who completes a term as Vice President- Broadcast, replaces current President Barbara Ciara, managing editor/ anchor for WTKR in Norfolk, Va., whose term in office ends Sunday.

"We have a lot of work to do and I want to say to you that we will hit the ground running," Times told a packed room at the Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Tampa where the election results were announced. "Advocacy is part of our mission, it is what we do, it is what we are about."

A total of 12 Board members were chosen by the membership to lead the organization for the next two years.  Board members re-elected for a second term in uncontested races include Treasurer Gregory Lee Jr., Parliamentarian Tonju Francois, Region III Director Ken Knight, Region V Director Cindy George, and Associate Representative Aprill O. Turner.

Katina Revels won a first term in an unopposed race for Region I Director. Winning re-election in a contested race was Region II Director Charles Robinson III, and winning a first term in Region IV was Keith Reed. CNN analyst Roland Martin was elected secretary in another contested race.

Georgia Dawkins, a student at Florida A&M University, was elected Student Representative. No candidates ran for Region VI Director, which will be appointed by the new president upon taking office.

Go to Target Market News homepage


Target Market News
Congratulates the
Recipients of the 2009

Advertising Executive
of the Year

FUSE Advertising

Media Executive 
of the Year
President. Broadcast
Media Sales

Marketing Executive
of the Year
Multicultural Marketing Manager
Ford Motor Co.

Research Executive
of the Year
Executive Vice Pres.,
Director of Cultural Identities
Starcom Mediavest  Group

Public Relations Executive
of the Year

President / CEO

Lifetime Achievement Award

TV One